Victoria Public Healthcare Awards and Victoria Prizes for Science and Innovation announced

Victoria’s public health services and innovation in health and medical research were celebrated this month with the announcement of the recipients of the Victoria Public Healthcare Awards, the Victoria Prizes for Science and Innovation and the Victoria Fellowships.

We sincerely congratulate all the winners from BioMedVic Member organisations and others on their contribution to Victoria’s world-class health and medical research.

Minister for Health Jill Hennessy and Minister for Mental Health Martin Foley presented the 2017 Victorian Public Healthcare Awards, which celebrate excellence, dedication and innovation in public healthcare, at a gala ceremony on 26 October. (See the full list of winners and finalists here.)

Congratulations to Eastern Health, winner of the Minister for Mental Health’s Award for their work in bringing tele-psychiatry to an emergency department, and to The Royal Children’s Hospital, winner of the Secretary’s Award for their integration of care for patients with chronic and complex conditions.

We also congratulate the winners and finalists of the Victoria Prizes for Science and Innovation and the recipients of the Victoria Fellowship, which were announced at an awards ceremony held by veski at Melbourne’s Investment Centre on 26 October.

Six early career researchers, five of which are from BioMedVic Member organisations, were awarded the Victoria Fellowships in Life Sciences, valued at up to $18,000 each to assist them with an international study mission. Congratulations to Dr Kim Allison and Ms Jane Hawkey from the University of Melbourne and Dr Jennifer Payne, Ms Samantha Rowbotham and Dr Philip Ward from Monash University.

“We’re supporting our innovators because they help our economy – their discoveries and new ideas will create the jobs and industries of the future,” said Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy Philip Dalidakis.