Victorian biomedical research…on a roll

A little over 6 months into the new era, it’s appropriate to pay tribute to the original Members of the organisation for their foresight and support to enable the Cluster to morph into Biomedical Research Victoria (BioMedVic).

As it seeks to improve the collaboration between the state’s world class R&D institutions, enhance interactions with government and industry and further capitalise on Victoria’s competitive advantage in biomedical research, BioMedVic is delighted to welcome 7 new Members to date – Alfred Health, Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute, Burnet Institute, Deakin University, Monash University, Monash Health and Western Health. We are also looking forward to successfully concluding discussions with several prospective members before year end.

The world-class reputation of the BioMedVic community was highlighted this week with the recognition and celebration through the awarding of the 2014 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science to Professors Sam Berkovic and Ingrid Scheffer (of The University of Melbourne, The Florey and Austin Health), whose discovery of the genetic pieces in the epilepsy jigsaw is bringing hope to families all over the world.

And to cap it off, Friday’s (31 Oct 2014) announcement by Minister Gordon Rich-Phillips that the Victorian Government has secured Melbourne as the headquarters for Australia’s largest-ever life sciences venture capital fund will ensure Victoria remains at the centre of the Asia-Pacific region for medtech, biotech, and the translation and commercialisation of medical research outcomes.  Set to raise $200 million, the MRCF Biotechnology Translation Fund will build on the successful track record and model of the Medical Research Commercialisation Fund (MRCF) developed by Dr Chris Nave and his colleagues.

We live in exciting times!

Jan Tennent, CEO

(L-R) Alan Stockdale, Ian Gust, Chris Nave (MRCF), Minister Rich-Phillips & Garry Jennings.
(L-R) Alan Stockdale, Ian Gust, Chris Nave (MRCF),
Minister Rich-Phillips & Garry Jennings.