ATSE welcomes biomedical leader

Prof Jan Tennent, CEO of BioMedVic, has been elected Fellow to the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE). She is among 25 leaders in applying science, technology and engineering to solve real-world problems elected to one of Australia’s Learned Academies.

ATSE highlighted Prof Tennent’s career:

In her previous role as Director for Business Development & Global Alliances at Pfizer Animal Health, Professor Tennent was responsible for maximising the growth and profitability of APAC business units and leading the due diligence and negotiation teams for a number of company and product acquisitions and numerous technology licences and collaborative R&D agreements.

As a member of the CSL Animal Health executive team she was responsible for new product opportunity evaluation and leadership of product development and the launch teams for unique vaccines in Australia and the UK.

Professor Tennent’s research career included periods as Director of the CRC for Vaccine Technology and Program Manager for the Vaccines and Immunology group of CSIRO Animal Health.

Academy President, Professor Hugh Bradlow, welcomed the new Fellows. “We bring together Australia’s leading experts in applied science, technology and engineering to provide impartial, practical and evidence-based advice to enable Australia to maintain its position as a leading technology economy.”

“The 2019 cohort of new Fellows comprises a remarkable and talented group, who will contribute to helping the Academy fulfill its mission.” The Academy has also announced a Foreign Fellow, an Honorary Fellow and a Fellow elected directly by the Board.

Twelve of the 25 new Fellows are women – the highest proportion ever and almost matching the Academy’s 2025 diversity target of electing at least 50 per cent women.

The other 2019 new Fellows are:

  • Dr Douglas Bock FTSE. Director, CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science
  • Dr Lynn Booth FTSE. Chief, Joint and Operations Analysis Division, Defence Science and Technology Group
  • Dr Gunilla Burrowes FTSE. Chair, Eighteen04 Inc
  • Dr Helen Cleugh FTSE. Director, Climate Science Centre, CSIRO
  • Dr Martin Cole FTSE. Deputy Director, Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
  • Mr William Cox FTSE. Global CEO, Aurecon
  • Professor Melinda Hodkiewicz FTSE. The University of Western Australia
  • Professor Emma Johnston AO FTSE. Dean, Faculty of Science, UNSW Sydney
  • Professor Sandra Kentish FTSE. Head, School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor David Lloyd FTSE. Vice-Chancellor and President, University of South Australia
  • Ms Romilly Madew AO FTSE. Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Australia
  • Professor Neena Mitter FTSE. Director, Centre for Horticultural Science, QAAFI, The University of Queensland
  • Distinguished Professor Adrian Mouritz FTSE. Executive Dean of Engineering, RMIT University
  • Professor Saeid Nahavandi FTSE. Pro Vice-Chancellor (Defence Technologies), Deakin University
  • Professor Ranjith Pathegama Gamage FTSE. Professor in Geomechanics Engineering, Monash University
  • Dr Andy Sheppard FTSE. Research Director, Managing Invasive Species and Diseases, CSIRO
  • Dr Surinder Pal Singh FTSE. Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO
  • Associate Professor Elaine Saunders FTSE. Executive Chair, Blamey Saunders Hears
  • Dr Alison Todd FTSE. Co-Founder & Chief Scientific Officer, SpeeDx Pty Ltd
  • Professor Nicolas Voelcker FTSE. Monash University
  • Professor Chien Ming Wang FTSE. Transport and Main Roads Chair in Civil Engineering, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Huanting Wang FTSE. Monash University
  • Mr Anthony Wood AM FTSE. Energy Program Director, Grattan Institute
  • Ms Zoe Yujnovich FTSE. Chair/Executive Vice-President, Shell Australia
  • Foreign Fellow: Ms Francesca Ferrazza FTSE. Senior Vice-President Decarbonisation & Environmental R&D, Eni, Italy
  • Honorary Fellow: The Hon John Anderson AO FTSE. Former Deputy Prime Minister
  • Board-elected Fellow: Dr Andrew Thomas AO FTSE. Former NASA astronaut

The new Fellows will be formally welcomed into the Academy at its Annual General Meeting in Melbourne on 29 November.

More information:

Congratulations Vic Gov Fellowship Recipients

The three recipients of the Victorian Health and Medical Research Fellowships were announced on July 19. The fellowships are intended to develop initiatives and strategies, leading to clinical or commercial outcomes in the areas of bioinformatics, genomics and/or health services research.

The three recipients are:

  • Dr Allison Milner, to develop initiatives and strategies, in association with workplaces and the business community, to reduce the incidence of mental health and rates of suicide in working age men by linking them into health services.
  • Dr Bernard Pope, to develop solutions to aid the early detection and treatment of colorectal cancer
  • Associate Professor Ilana Ackerman, to research how and why hip and knee replacements can sometimes fail, and develop methods to minimise it

Science Medical Research & Technology Panel Chair Brigitte Smith said “The three fellowships were selected from a quality field of more than 100 eligible applications, and went through a rigorous assessment and shortlisting process to prioritise the key research projects which we are confident will have a real and lasting impact on people’s health and wellbeing.”

BioMedVic is proud of the work it has been doing on behalf of the Victorian Government to roll out these fellowships. And we are now pleased to be supporting the DHHS with its roll out of the Victorian Medical Research Acceleration Fund.

BioMedVic Advocacy Hits the Ground Running in 2017


As for many Australian organisations, December-January was a quieter period for BioMedVic. But our advocacy on behalf of Members continues.

Victorian Parliament resumed last week and most of our Members are ‘back in town’. Amanda Caples and I are in the diary to catch up about what’s happening in DEDJTR and at BioMedVic, to hear what her plans are as Lead Scientist for the state and in which areas BioMedVic may be of assistance. Among the topics I will raise when I meet with Linda Christine, Director Innovation, Industry and International Health in DHHS, is the future of the Operational Infrastructure Support Program that provides funding for indirect research costs to eligible independent medical research institutes in Victoria. Continue reading

New Fellowships a Boon for Victorian Researchers – and Patients

The year has kicked off with the launch of an exciting program aimed at developing the next generation of Victorian researchers, translating research to the clinic and boosting the state’s economy.

As the state’s leading network of health and medical research organisations, BioMedVic is delighted to be working with the Victorian Government to roll out the inaugural round of the Victorian Health and Medical Research Fellowships.
Continue reading

The bottom line that’s top of mind …

Determining how and on what the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) will be spent is the sort of thing we all dream of as scientists. What would we do with that sort of money, which areas of medical research need it, where could the most benefit be gained? Can you imagine the pressure members of the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board must be feeling?

Continue reading

The Bottom Line

With the catchcry that there’s “…never been a more exciting time…” being applied to our Australian lifestyle and across the sectors of the economy including medical research,
I’m keenly awaiting announcements later today in the Victorian budget and also next week in the federal budget that will facilitate actions to transform the rhetoric into reality.   Continue reading