CEO Report – February

An articulate, passionate and outspoken research community potentially means more collaborations, more funding, greater security and in times of financial constraint more effective and greater advocacy. Our aim at BioMedVic, is not only to be the collective voice of Victoria’s health and medical research community but to also help our members be more vocal about the great research they are doing.

BioMedVic was a principal supporter of the 2015 Victorian round of “Fresh Science” – a national skills development program that provides early-career researchers  with the communication and media skills to become spokespeople both for their own research and science in general.

“Fresh Science” ticks many of the boxes of what BioMedVic is about: assisting our member’s up and coming scientists and researchers to raise the profile – of themselves, their research and their institution. Continue reading

BioMedVic December Newsletter

  • CEO report ‘Innovation is the new black…and Melbourne wears it well!’
  • Launch of ‘Researcher in Residence’ Scheme
  • Round 2 UROP Stipend Announcement
  • Review of the VPTN Christmas and Networking Drinks

BioMedVic November Newsletter

  • VCRN Early Career Clinician Researcher (ECCR) award winners
  • UROP Placements throughout Victoria
  • Review of the 2015 VPTN showcase
  • BioMedVic @ AusBiotech 2015

BioMedVic August Newsletter

  • Assent of the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) and the release of the Victorian Government’s discussion papers
  • Nature Masterclass 2015
  • #UROPInspired Conference Day review
  • VCRN Career Recognition Award – Congratulations Professor Euan M Wallace!
  • Fresh Science 2015

Continue reading

Board update

BioMedVic is fortunate to be guided by a distinguished and experienced Board comprising Prof Ian Gust (Chair), Dr Cathy Foley, Prof Stephen Holdsworth, Prof Bronwyn Kingwell, Prof David de Kretser, Prof Malcolm McConville, Dr George Morstyn, Dr Roland Scollay and Prof Jeff Zajac.

October marked the departure from the Board of Prof Doug Hilton, and his Alternate, Prof Peter Coleman, who had both served the Board with distinction for five years. The Board extends sincere thanks to Doug and Peter for their many valuable contributions and welcomes Prof Bronwyn Kingwell as the new Band 1 Member-elected Director.

This is also an opportunity to congratulate Ian Gust who was recently recognised by his alma mater, The University of Melbourne, by the conferring of one of its highest honours, the degree of Doctor of Medical Science honoris causa.  The ceremony program noted “Ian Gust continues to have a profound impact on the world’s scientific and health communities.  His eminent contributions to scientific knowledge and to ensuring the global impact of discovery, are experienced the world over.”

Welcome new CEO A/Prof Jan Tennent

The Board is delighted to announce the appointment of Associate Professor Jan Tennent to the position of CEO of the Bio21 Cluster.  Jan commenced her appointment on 23 January 2012.