ATSE welcomes biomedical leader

Prof Jan Tennent, CEO of BioMedVic, has been elected Fellow to the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE). She is among 25 leaders in applying science, technology and engineering to solve real-world problems elected to one of Australia’s Learned Academies.

ATSE highlighted Prof Tennent’s career:

In her previous role as Director for Business Development & Global Alliances at Pfizer Animal Health, Professor Tennent was responsible for maximising the growth and profitability of APAC business units and leading the due diligence and negotiation teams for a number of company and product acquisitions and numerous technology licences and collaborative R&D agreements.

As a member of the CSL Animal Health executive team she was responsible for new product opportunity evaluation and leadership of product development and the launch teams for unique vaccines in Australia and the UK.

Professor Tennent’s research career included periods as Director of the CRC for Vaccine Technology and Program Manager for the Vaccines and Immunology group of CSIRO Animal Health.

Academy President, Professor Hugh Bradlow, welcomed the new Fellows. “We bring together Australia’s leading experts in applied science, technology and engineering to provide impartial, practical and evidence-based advice to enable Australia to maintain its position as a leading technology economy.”

“The 2019 cohort of new Fellows comprises a remarkable and talented group, who will contribute to helping the Academy fulfill its mission.” The Academy has also announced a Foreign Fellow, an Honorary Fellow and a Fellow elected directly by the Board.

Twelve of the 25 new Fellows are women – the highest proportion ever and almost matching the Academy’s 2025 diversity target of electing at least 50 per cent women.

The other 2019 new Fellows are:

  • Dr Douglas Bock FTSE. Director, CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science
  • Dr Lynn Booth FTSE. Chief, Joint and Operations Analysis Division, Defence Science and Technology Group
  • Dr Gunilla Burrowes FTSE. Chair, Eighteen04 Inc
  • Dr Helen Cleugh FTSE. Director, Climate Science Centre, CSIRO
  • Dr Martin Cole FTSE. Deputy Director, Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
  • Mr William Cox FTSE. Global CEO, Aurecon
  • Professor Melinda Hodkiewicz FTSE. The University of Western Australia
  • Professor Emma Johnston AO FTSE. Dean, Faculty of Science, UNSW Sydney
  • Professor Sandra Kentish FTSE. Head, School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor David Lloyd FTSE. Vice-Chancellor and President, University of South Australia
  • Ms Romilly Madew AO FTSE. Chief Executive Officer, Infrastructure Australia
  • Professor Neena Mitter FTSE. Director, Centre for Horticultural Science, QAAFI, The University of Queensland
  • Distinguished Professor Adrian Mouritz FTSE. Executive Dean of Engineering, RMIT University
  • Professor Saeid Nahavandi FTSE. Pro Vice-Chancellor (Defence Technologies), Deakin University
  • Professor Ranjith Pathegama Gamage FTSE. Professor in Geomechanics Engineering, Monash University
  • Dr Andy Sheppard FTSE. Research Director, Managing Invasive Species and Diseases, CSIRO
  • Dr Surinder Pal Singh FTSE. Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO
  • Associate Professor Elaine Saunders FTSE. Executive Chair, Blamey Saunders Hears
  • Dr Alison Todd FTSE. Co-Founder & Chief Scientific Officer, SpeeDx Pty Ltd
  • Professor Nicolas Voelcker FTSE. Monash University
  • Professor Chien Ming Wang FTSE. Transport and Main Roads Chair in Civil Engineering, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Huanting Wang FTSE. Monash University
  • Mr Anthony Wood AM FTSE. Energy Program Director, Grattan Institute
  • Ms Zoe Yujnovich FTSE. Chair/Executive Vice-President, Shell Australia
  • Foreign Fellow: Ms Francesca Ferrazza FTSE. Senior Vice-President Decarbonisation & Environmental R&D, Eni, Italy
  • Honorary Fellow: The Hon John Anderson AO FTSE. Former Deputy Prime Minister
  • Board-elected Fellow: Dr Andrew Thomas AO FTSE. Former NASA astronaut

The new Fellows will be formally welcomed into the Academy at its Annual General Meeting in Melbourne on 29 November.

More information: